Skip to content

Recently completed – “I will prevail for you”

November 20, 2008

I don’t think I posted this on the other blog before it got deleted. I finshed this painting last month and I am really happy with how it came out. I used antique train ledger paper in the border…which was actually the hardest part of the painting. I don’t have it listed on Etsy yet, since it’s hanging in a local cafe as we speak. Do you think that $425 is a reasonable asking price? Too high? Too low? It’s 20 inches by 20 inches by 3/4 deep, ready to hang.

"I will prevail for you"

6 Comments leave one →
  1. everydaycreate permalink*
    November 20, 2008 8:23 pm

    I think that it is more than reasonable. You obviously put a lot of effort into it, and all things considered, thats still a great deal.

    Love the ledger paper!

  2. robyn permalink*
    November 21, 2008 10:38 pm

    Julie, this is beautiful and I love your work and admire your talent and abilities so much. I have a question that I wonder you might be able to answer. I’m actually having my first solo show this december and my paintings are on canvas and not framed. I never took any painting classes in school, other than watercolor, so I have absolutey no idea on how to frame them. What I really like is the thin, flat against the depth of the canvas, wooden frames I’ve seen at shows a lot lately. Do you have any suggestions? Do you build your own, or are there places to purchase them?
    Any help would be lovely.

  3. November 21, 2008 10:55 pm

    hey robyn!
    I don’t frame my paintings…I never took painting classes either so I struggled with that myself at first. I work on 3/4 or 1.5 inch deep canvas so what I do is either continue the painting on to the edges, or just paint the edges a complimentary color. Then I attach hanging hardware to the back. It’s a lot easier than you’d think.

    for small paintings like 8 by 10 and under, I use sawtooth hangers. I nail them into the actual canvas stretchers and then use some wood glue on top of the nail to secure it

    If it’s anything larger, I use D-Rings and hanging wire. I can take pictures close up of how i do that if you want…or there may be a tutorial online…not sure.

    In terms of framing…I think you mean Shadow box type of frame, or maybe not. I have no experience with that…sorry!

  4. November 25, 2008 3:46 am

    What, you’re self taught? That’s terrific! By looking at your work, just assumed you graduated from an art college. Do you have your work in galleries? YOur work says “gallery” all over it!

  5. November 25, 2008 4:07 am

    yeah self taught! thank you for that compliment. I hope to have some work in a gallery at some point, but right now its just on etsy, in some local cafes, an art museum show, and my online portfolio. next year im really going to try and get in some galleries.

    i actually majored in MATH!

  6. November 27, 2008 4:44 am

    Thanks Julie. I actually remember seeing how you painted the edges in a complimentary color and really liked that. My sister is going to help me with frames and if it doesn’t work then I will be just going with raw edges as well. My paintings are all deep canvases as well.
    And, I think I remembered you saying you were a math major as well. My sister was a math major too with a masters in statistics, now she makes the big bucks doing forecasting.

Leave a Reply

