Skip to content

Just in Time for Christmas

November 30, 2008

img_7200img_7205

Just wanted to share some super cool finds. Last week, I went to a “house” sale–like a garage sale but it’s in the house. The owner of the home passed away and her children were having a sale of her treasures. When I walked thru the front door, I saw a box full of handmade Xmas ornaments which she made. She was a crafter…like us. These lovely ornaments were all handmade of felt and tons of sequins were hand sewn on. The angels had pretty feathers for wings. I knew that I had to have them. They are so cute, so precious, and made with love.

img_7210

Merry Christmas!

10 Comments leave one →
  1. November 30, 2008 11:47 pm

    so sweet!

  2. December 2, 2008 10:37 pm

    We (well, my parents’ tree) have an ornament just like that blonde angel. It makes me wonder if it came from a pattern that both my mom and this woman got from a magazine they both read. Pretty cool.

  3. December 3, 2008 5:45 am

    In this lady’s craft room, there were these ornament kits for felt ornaments. I think that’s what she was using. I was tempted to buy the kit but then I knew that I wouldn’t get around to making it. Oh well. She put a LOT of time into these ornaments. Too cute!

  4. Bri permalink*
    December 3, 2008 2:30 pm

    they are really cute. I dig the glitter. ;)

  5. kimbuktu permalink*
    December 3, 2008 10:59 pm

    So sad that her children were selling these handmade ornaments, but so wonderful that you were there to buy and appreciate them.

  6. joonwalk permalink*
    December 5, 2008 1:10 pm

    Hello Gals! Stace, these are amazing. At first I thought you’d made them and was flipping out! Wow! What a find. My ex’s grandmother was incredibly crafty. She used to make felt/sequined ornaments. She taught me – I think I was about 21. ( I married at 18 the first time!) She bought me a kit for a Pinocchio set. I spent hours and hours and days working on him, Jiminy Cricket and Gepetto who held a teeny hammer in one hand and I actually made ‘glasses’ out of gold wirey thread. I was so proud of them and loved them. (I had a toddler at the time.) I miss them every year. Scout would adore them. My ex stole all of our ornaments, which were all special, handmade by someone – (like our children as tots) yard sale cuties etc. I sure wish I had a picture but I didn’t think that way back then. The worst part is, I know he doesn’t have them either. They are most likely in a dump buried forever.

    Thanks so much for sharing these. I would LOVE that pattern. I should look around. I am so glad you are carrying on this woman’s legacy.

    Hope everyone is well and happy. I hope to start posting again. I have been adding my new creations to our flickr pool and I hope you all stop by my blog now and then. Have you seen my bagels post? :)

    http://joonbeam.blogspot.com

    I started a wordpress blog. It is so different but I did figure it out. I wanted it as a test to practice for here. See you soon. ox all around

  7. everydaycreate permalink*
    December 5, 2008 9:58 pm

    That’s too bad about the ornaments. But, it seems like the ex wasn’t such a nice person? Maybe it’s good that you had an opportunity to start over again with some really good memories.

    PS – we have a flickr?

  8. joonwalk permalink*
    December 5, 2008 10:51 pm

    Yes, we do have a flickr group. It’s called Create A Day and was started quite a while back. Does anyone know why the time on this blog is so off? Is it just me? Or are we really writing in the future? :)

  9. December 6, 2008 4:53 am

    Oh Joon, I should’ve picked up that felt kit. It was sorta like those embroidery kits…flat packet with photo of design on front and felt rectangle with the pattern stamped on it to cut out and sew. I knew I should’ve picked it up. When I have that “feeling”, I should just listen to it from now on. Normally, I do but this time I kept looking at it and thinking “when am I really going to stitch those sequins and beads to theses pieces”. Eeek!

    If I ever find one of these kits or book online, I’ll be sure to forward it to you.

    Read your bagel post. Looked delicious!

  10. December 6, 2008 10:55 am

    Hey Joon, I looked on Ebay and found this Pinocchio Felt Xmas Ornament set by Bucilla—it has the Crickett and Gepetto. That must have been the one that you created years ago. Look under either Christmas ornament kit felt OR Bucilla Felt Craft Kit Disney. There are 2 sets up for bid which end on Sunday. The bidding is up to $15 on one and $20 on the other. People really want this one. Good luck if you choose to bid on it.

Leave a Reply

