Skip to content

Happy Post Holiday madness!!

January 10, 2009

So I have yet to create anything since Xmas…I can’t tell if it’s a case of burn-out or frustration due to low holiday sales.

I REALLY want to try some new stuff this year. I did the multi-media painting last year with one of my Etsy Street Team members and it inspired me to look for other stuff to use in my paintings. Here is the painting I did last year:

Hidden in the Soul of a Child

Hidden in the Soul of a Child

I recently started scouring etsy and ebay for interesting things to use…I bought these buttons:

but I’m having a hard time getting motivated this year. Anyone else having these problems? I’m not feeling very inspired at the moment.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. everydaycreate permalink*
    January 10, 2009 5:19 pm

    I’m feeling a bit overloaded. I’m at my parents house, and I’m away from all of my creative stuff, so I have all of these ideas but no real outlets. In that way, I’m not terribly motivated. I’m afraid that when I get home, however, I won’t be inspired anymore, which seems to be the case most of the time.

    On another note, I love the multimedia paintings and frankly would love to see you paint that picture of buttons. With your style, I think that it would be very nice!!!

  2. January 10, 2009 6:03 pm

    I know what you mean. At times, or should I say most of the time, we create in a vacuum. Sorta like being inside one of those Xmas snowglobes. We don’t know what people think about what we’re creating, if we’re on course, or going over the edge. That’s the reason I enjoyed actually doing some jewelry shows with other friends where I could meet people and hear which pieces they loved and the reasons. It made me realize that people do appreciate my “eye”. Recently, I bought a whole bunch of semi-precious gem strands (on Etsy and at local tradeshows). B/c I purchased so much at one time, I felt this overwhelming need to create. So, I’ve done like over 20 pieces. The creative power of super spending! Oh well, gotta get the creative juices flowing anyway I can. :)

  3. January 11, 2009 12:31 am

    Hi! I just don’t seem to ever have enough time the day. I have tons of ideas, not enough time for it all. I love the painting and the buttons are fab!

Leave a Reply

