Skip to content

Tomatoes Tomatoes Everywhere…

February 15, 2009

It’s funny, you wouldn’t think that too much stuff grows in the desert.  I’m used to the farmer’s market in Colorado starting in about April with last year’s onions and such, but this is so much better!  There’s not really a farmer’s market per se but there is a flea market with lots of guys selling oranges, onions, etc.  Delicious!   Yesterday I bought a ton of key limes, 2 huge bags of grape tomatoes, onions, sweet peppers, tortillas and more for…$9.  And the tomatoes, oh the tomatoes!  I hate buying ones at the store because they just never taste really good.

So I’m at  a stand (in fact, some guy’s pickup truck) and I’m not seeing anything I like on the table, but in the back there is this huge box of baby grape tomatoes in all sorts of pretty colors.  I ask the guy how much it is, he says “20 for $1” which isn’t bad but then he offers to sell me the box for $5.  So I bought it.

That's a pretty big pie pan..

That's a pretty big pie pan..

That pie pan is maybe…1/1oth of the amount of tomatoes that I bought?  I know this post doesn’t seem too crafty but I’m desperate for ideas for what to do with them, and I know that you’re all makers extrordinaire….help!!!

5 Comments leave one →
  1. stacysdesigns88 permalink*
    February 15, 2009 6:13 pm

    What about salsa or a tomato salad? What about roasted tomatoes–put them on a baking sheet drizzle with olive oil, a little salt, and then bake/broil them?

    You can make Bruschette by chopping them up, mix with clove chopped garlic, 1 t olive oil, basil, some chopped green onion. Spread on Toasted/baked french bread. Enjoy!

    You can also say “Happy Valentine’s Day” and give some bags of tomatoes to your neighbors, friends, relatives, and co-workers. Spread the wealth of red gold.

  2. everydaycreate permalink*
    February 15, 2009 6:18 pm

    all good ideas. too bad i don’t have any friends down here/don’t know the neighbors, otherwise they would be in the same situation!

    I’m going to be eating tomatoes for weeks. I’m making some provencial tomato salsa right now.

  3. joonwalk permalink*
    February 16, 2009 5:39 pm

    OOOOOO… here is something we adore. We call it a

    Valley Melt

    Chop up your tomatoes. Place in a small bowl. Add, chopped: black olives, fresh parsley, a green onion. Then salt & pepper and mix in enough mayonnaise to hold it together. Choose your favorite cheese slices or mix swiss & cheddar {for example}. Now butter two pieces of bread and make a grilled sandwich using the tomato yum mix & the cheese. This is especially good using good rye bread if you love rye bread like we do, but any favorite bread will do, of course. My family would eat this every day if they could. So easy, too. Let me know if you try it. I wish I had your tomatoes. I don’t see why we are not finding things like that here. I counted on it. Must investigate. :)

  4. everydaycreate permalink*
    February 17, 2009 3:54 am

    wow that sounds reallllllly good – gonna have to try that.

    I think it’s because we’re so close to Mexico. The tomatoes came from a town that’s literally just over the border. I also found out that it was a 20 pound box! In addition to being waaaay too many tomatoes, it was a steal. Same thing at costco today – $6 for 2lbs. Sweetness.

  5. February 24, 2009 12:07 pm

    woah, these are beautiful!
    It reminds me of how my mom jokes about the end of the summer here where everyone is bringing bags of tomatoes and zucchini for friends, family, neighbors, etc. It gets so bad people are handing them to strangers and no one dares to leave their car windows or doors open in fear that when they return people will have “kindly” left more behind for them. Every recipe starts to include tomatoes and zucchini.

Leave a Reply

