Skip to content

Serendipity…A New Look

March 27, 2009

I’m one of those artists/crafters who putter along doing my thing and never realizing that I’m doing the same ole thing. And then, someone comes along and gets me thinking with their request. When I’m stumped, it’s not a pretty sight. I feel like pulling my hair out. Ok, I have my moments.

katies-drawing-for-blog3-27-09My customer’s drawing

“Yes”, once again, I have a new customer that has gotten my creative juices flowing with her custom order request. She has asked for something that I don’t create and this has led me to rack my brain to come up with something comparable. She wants these large sized earrings but they have to be pretty light bc of one of her earlobes. If the earring is too heavy, it’ll pull and elongate the earring hole. She sent me a pic of the model with the earrings and I was just like…I don’t do these. Initially, she wanted what I call “bead weaving” type of earrings. Her GF was going to make her earrings and matching bracelet for her using this technique but can’t now bc her GF got into a car accident. I unfortunately don’t do bead weaving. So, it started me thinking.

Based on her own drawing, I came up with an earring. She wanted it a “Diamond” shape and certain dimensions.  She decided that reality was not all it was cracked up to be.  She wanted it to “move.   So, we went back to the drawing board again.

img_88611

Attempt Number 1

She said that she liked the inner part of my True Love Heart pendant. This technique is what I call a more intricate level of wire wrapping. You take sterling silver wire (or whatever wire you want to work with) and form a base, then wrap a smaller gauge of similar wire over and over the piece by hand adding in gemstones, beads, what have you. It takes planning, time, time, and more time. So, first I checked out other Etsians who use this technique to get inspiration. Then, I went to Borders and Barnes and Noble to look for How To books…found zip, nada, nothing.

img_4600

True Love Heart Pendant/Necklace

Back at home, I just decided to do it the old hard and tedious way. Learn by doing, redoing, and doing again. I actually had to draw out what I wanted to create as the base so I wouldn’t waste my wire. I started working with copper wire first but then switched to the sterling bc I was getting impatient.

And “yes”, I’m a bit of an impatient artist. I don’t enjoy spending hours, days, weeks trying to do one thing. I like to do it fast and in the least amount of tries as possible.

Last night, I worked several straight hours on 2 earring designs using this new to me technique which I made up as I went along.

img_9253

New Bridal Earring

Here they are. A bridal earring with my new bride customer in mind. And the 2nd earring is a funky mod one with an Indian “feel”. I wore this 2nd earring around the house and couldn’t take it off. Everything on it is hand crafted by me…the base, the earhooks that remind me of an elephant’s profile. I love the look, love the chains hanging, love the shape. I’m going to make one for my shop and one for myself to keep.

img_9257

Rutilated Moss Amethyst andFresh Water Pearls

Normally, I don’t actually make a real mock up design for a custom order request. However, this customer has already purchased 7 pairs of bridesmaids earrings from me which I have mailed to her. And she wants to purchase a pair of bridal earrings and bracelet from me also. So, as I have more available time to spend designing and I find her design request intriguing, I’m willing to go the extra mile. And I’m happy that I did because I think I’ve stumbled onto my new jewelry line.

6 Comments leave one →
  1. everydaycreate permalink*
    March 27, 2009 9:17 pm

    I LOVE that second set of earrings. In fact, if I ever become not broke, I might just have to have you make me a pair. They’re fabulous. You really should make some to sell in your shop (especially because you spent so much time making them!).

    Thanks for stopping by and saying hi, we miss you!

  2. stacysdesigns88 permalink*
    March 27, 2009 9:59 pm

    Thank you Bri! When working in a “bubble”, it’s hard to tell if other people will also Love your work as much as you do. We artistans need those constant stoking of the fire. :)

  3. everydaycreate permalink*
    March 28, 2009 12:33 am

    well i LOVE it

  4. March 28, 2009 1:15 pm

    These are all marvelous, Stace! I love them all. And I saw your comment on my blog and will come back and post the applesauce gingerbread cupcake recipe here soon. Bug me if I forget! :) So nice to see you again. ox joonie

  5. March 28, 2009 1:30 pm

    Stacy,

    I actually love them all, but especially the first two pictured. I really like the different size and shapes of the gems you incorporated. The earrings are probably too big for me to wear, but they are beautiful. You are very talented!

  6. June 17, 2009 4:17 am

    Ok, so I am REALLY behind in catching up on our blog… sheesh! Staci, I LOVE all of these but especially the second pair. I need to go check out your shop…

Leave a Reply

