Skip to content

WhooHoo I can post again!

June 17, 2009

I am fully expecting that this will post.  My computer crashed, was cleaned out, and now I believe will be able to post to WordPress again.

Okay, here’s what I’ve been doing.  For the last few months I have had mostly custom orders through my shops, for which I am very thankful.  The most  challenging of these has been what I call my African Queen.

A missionary from Africa asked if I could take the fabrics she had collected and make them into a quilt.  She chose the pattern out of several I suggested, and I went to work.  It was more work than I expected.  At least  a third of the fabrics had to be reinforced with stabilizer because of their loose weave.  And wrestling to quilt a queen under a standard sized sewing machine is no small feat.  But on the positive side, the fabrics were beautiful, and I enjoyed the challenge.

So here is the finished project, let me know what you thinkDSCN0575DSCN0548

6 Comments leave one →
  1. June 19, 2009 3:12 am

    Wow, all your hard work on that quilt was well worth it because it is truly amazing! What a gorgeous display of the beautiful fabrics. Did you choose the design or did they?

  2. kimbuktu permalink*
    June 19, 2009 10:17 am

    Thanks Robyn!

    I presented her with 3-4 patterns and she chose this one.

    Hope you are healing well from your bicycle incident. Are you still on crutches and have you gotten a new bike yet?

  3. stacysdesigns88 permalink*
    June 20, 2009 10:48 am

    Kim, this is definitely a work of ART! I absolutely love the colors, the arrangement, and I can see the detailed free wheeling sewing on this HUGE quilt. Do you have one of those large wooden gadgets to make your sewing easier when quilting? My crazy quilting friend in Hawaii got one and it takes up a large chunk of her living room but she’s been quilting like a mad woman. She bought that humongous frame thing on the internet and she LoVes it. Swears by it. But I digress…LoVe your art. ♥♥

  4. kimbuktu permalink*
    June 21, 2009 1:07 pm

    Lol Stacy, and thanks!

    I just used my regular sewing machine, which was indeed a challenge to get that big quilt under. But once I figured out a method of rolling the quilt and direction of movement, it wasn’t too bad.

  5. everydaycreate permalink*
    June 23, 2009 3:09 pm

    I always wondered about that. I tried to make a quilt once and my sewing machine was sadly outmatched. :) This is beautiful!

  6. July 27, 2009 1:01 am

    I love this, Kym. Gorgeous. What an achievement.

Leave a Reply

