Skip to content

Thrifty Booty

January 24, 2010
by



Thrift Booty

Originally uploaded by sheasy

I went thrifting today, for the first time in a very long time. I’m still learning where the good thrift shops are in and around my town. But today I did manage to score a few trinkets.

The first item that caught my eye was a smiling, chartreuse mug. I couldn’t tell what it was… perhaps a squatty piece of corn? I turned it upside down and etched into the bottom it said “PANCREAS”. Love. This.

Second item I found was a small silver, velvet lined box. It appears to be pretty old and had a lot of charm. I am a sucker for boxes, I have quite a few and most of them are empty.

Last two items were vintage books:
A Child Craft book with activities for kids. An example of a suggested activity: dress up like a “dirt-faced clown”. It even has tips on how to smudge up your face with a burnt cork and embellish with your mother’s lipstick.
And a LIFE book on Time. There were about 14 different topics to choose from: Science, Body, Cells, Engines, etc. but the book on time is mesmerizing! It talks about nerve impulses, carbon dating, eternal life, ancient trash, watch springs, turtle navigation, the possibility of time travel, tree rings, and on and on and on….

Speaking of time, I believe the time has come to drink some hot cocoa from a pancreas. Toodley-do!!

One Comment leave one →
  1. everydaycreate permalink*
    January 29, 2010 3:55 pm

    Pancreas mug? AMAZING. You got some good stuff! Looks like you had a color scheme going here. Funny how that works.

    Those time life books are a-mazing.

Leave a Reply

